Contemporary, psychological thriller, Reviews

/ Arc Book Review / My Husband’s Lies / Caroline England /

35886959

🌹ARC BOOK REVIEW🌹

Release Date-17th May 2018
Publisher-Avon Books UK
Genre-Psychological Fiction
Kindle Edition-384 Pages

 

‘I was gripped immediately – perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER

Known since school as ‘The A Team,’ Nick, Dan, Jen and Will have been best friends for years. But now they’re older, and their bond is stretched by partners, children, and the tightening net of secrets that are threatening to emerge.

On the morning of Nick and Lisa’s wedding, their friend Penny is found poised on the hotel window ledge, soaking wet and ready to jump. As the A Team rally around her, they soon realise that none of them are being as honest with themselves – or with each other – as they think they are…

Why does Will look at Jen’s daughter so strangely? What is Dan really doing on his long lunch breaks? And what is the real reason that Penny was found on that ledge?

Tense, disturbing and clever, My Husband’s Lies is the second domestic noir from Caroline England, perfect for fans of C. L . Taylor and Apple Tree Yard.

 

My Husband’s Lies

My Husband’s Lies by Caroline England
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

my-husband-lies.png

This one for me wasn’t really my bag at all.
It was also filled with some truly awful individuals that I had great trouble feeling any sympathy for whatsoever.
I mean there were some normal ones as well but I have never seen so many selfish peeps all in one book.
I was frankly for the most part quite bored throughout and I only actually kept reading here because I was waiting for the other shoe to drop; newsflash it didn’t.
I also found it quite hard going keeping the whole cast here straight in my head, it got quite confusing separating the characters as there were just so many of them to contend with.
This had actually quite a lot going on here hence me hoping there was going to be an upward tilt at some point.
At Its heart “My Husbands Lies” was for me a book about relationships and the tangled threads they can weave.
We deal here with the repercussions of these secrets, hidden attractions and downright deceitfulness, throw in some mental illness and its really just a cauldron of catastrophe waiting to explode dramatically.
And it does; though got to say when things finally reached their momentum here I was actually passed caring.
That shocking finale for me actually felt slightly anti-climatic in nature and I could see it coming a mile off.
On a side-note, I do think more could have been made with the Mother/Not my mother storyline I was disappointed that this was not expanded on and explored more fully.
So on reflection, as much as I wish otherwise this one wasn’t quite to my taste; maybe it will be more to yours.
Thank you to the Publisher, Author and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of “My Husbands Lies” of which I have reviewed voluntary.
All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

35886959.jpg

AMAZON UK
AMAZON US

STALK ME

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.