Contemporary, Factual, Historical, Mystery, Reviews, Romance, Suspense

/ Arc Book Review / The Phantom Tree / Nicola Cornick /

36688337.jpg

❄️ARC BOOK REVIEW❄️

Release Date-21st August 2018
Publisher-Graydon House
Genre-Time-slip Historical Fiction
Kindle Edition-384 pages

 

“My name is Mary Seymour and I am the daughter of one queen and the niece of another.”

Browsing antiques shops in Wiltshire, Alison Bannister stumbles across a delicate old portrait—supposedly of Anne Boleyn. Except Alison knows better. The subject is Mary Seymour, the daughter of Katherine Parr, who was taken to Wolf Hall in 1557 as an unwanted orphan and presumed dead after going missing as a child. And Alison knows this because she, too, was in Wolf Hall…with Mary…in 1557.

The painting of Mary is more than just a beautiful object for Alison—it holds the key to her past life, the unlocking of the mystery surrounding Mary’s disappearance and how Alison can get back to her own time. But Alison’s quest soon takes a dark and foreboding turn, as a meeting place called the Phantom Tree harbours secrets in its shadows…

A spellbinding tale for fans of Kate Morton, Philippa Gregory and Barbara Erskine by the bestselling author of House of Shadows.

 

The Phantom Tree

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

black-and-white-angel-oak-tree-louis-dallara
So this was one that initially drew me in by being described as for fans of Barbara Erskine and I have to say I agree completely.
I myself have been a huge fan of that particular author for many years; in fact, she’s an auto-buy for me and “The Phantom Tree” I found was in a very similar vein, combining the past and present just so effortlessly.
What I loved about this the most was the rich factual history that was interwoven amongst the fiction.
It’s almost a history lesson within a story that’s been brought to vivid life before my very eyes. Managing to capture but also retain my initial attention just so effortlessly.
A timeslip story which manages to combine elements of history, Romance and suspense all parcelled up so nicely into one enticing little bundle.
“The Phantom Tree,” tells the story of the very real historical character of Mary Seymour and her distant cousin Alison.
Rivals, as well as unlikely allies these two young girls, mature together under the roof of the real-life Wolf Hall of 1557.
Due to circumstances forced upon both girls there paths separate following such different directions, one to a whole new home as a companion and poor relation, the other escaping through a doorway to the future.
Promises made but unable to deliver this story starts to unfold both then and now its repercussions managing to echo down through the coming centuries affecting all around.
Past and present combining so splendidly together at its very heart this is a tale of love. loss and redemption one I really can’t recommend enough.
I really didn’t expect to enjoy this as much as I actually did, this is one book that certainly snuck up on me catching me completely unawares.
Thank you to the Publisher and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of “The Phantom Tree” of which I have reviewed voluntary.
All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

AMAZON UK
AMAZON US

STALK ME

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.