Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, psychological thriller, Reviews, Suspense, Thriller

/ Arc Book Review / Now You See Her / Heidi Perks /

38356363.jpg

❄️ARC BOOK REVIEW❄️

Release Date-26th July 2018
Publisher-Random House UK, Cornerstone
Genre-Mystery & Thrillers
Kindle Edition-416 Pages

 

SHE WAS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. AND NOW SHE’S MISSING.

Unputdownable psychological suspense from an exciting new talent, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and I Let You Go.

NOW YOU SEE HER
She’s playing at the school fete with your children. You pull out your phone, scroll through Facebook, and look up again.
NOW YOU DON’T

Charlotte is looking after her best friend’s daughter the day she disappears. She thought the little girl was playing with her own children. She swears she only took her eyes off them for a second.

Now, Charlotte must do the unthinkable, tell her best friend Harriet that her only child is missing. The child she was meant to be watching.

Devastated, Harriet can no longer bear to see Charlotte. No one could expect her to trust her friend again.

Only now she needs to. Because two weeks later Harriet and Charlotte are both being questioned separately by the police. And secrets are about to surface.

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO PUT THINGS RIGHT?

 

 

Now You See Her

Now You See Her by Heidi Perks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

213d2dc8-abac-4044-8679-6f6732d78159._SR970,300_

This was a new author for me and I found “Now You See Her” to be a great introduction to this particular writers work.
It was a fast-paced read; managing to keep me on my toes throughout.
Full of twists and turns this did a great job of retaining and investing my attention.
The story itself revolves around friends Harriet and Charlotte and the fallout that results when the unimaginable happens.
Charlotte at a school fete manages to lose Harriets daughter; one-minute shes there, the next vanished into thin air.
How can their friendship survive this tragic strain and has the whole world looks on in horror Charlotte’s perfect life starts to unravel as friends and strangers start to point the finger and judge.
Crucifying her as a mother and friend.
Meanwhile, Harriets fighting her own personal demons and with buried secrets ready to reveal all there’s much more going on here than originally meets the eye.
So this was a great book that really kept my interest.
Its told in dual POV; Harriet and Charlottes and did an excellent job of portraying these flawed imperfect characters.
I loved that both friends were far from faultless; each not truly showing all of themselves but still acting so clueless as to how actual real they were both outwardly behaving.
I also enjoyed seeing the glimpse into the mommy mates playground dynamics showcased here, actually so typical of most school hierarchy’s, shallow and superficial all the way.
It’s no wonder Charlotte as an individual altered so much through this as she slowly has her eyes opened to her friend’s fakeness.
Not even one apology amongst them for shunning and abandoning their so-called friend in her time of need.
The only exception to this was her friend Audrey, she was a rock, I think we could all do with an Audrey in our lives.
Harriet, as I mentioned earlier, has her own battles to fight and without going into to detail these slowly start to unfold as we venture further into proceedings.
There is a lot of back and forth as we are taken back in time to the events as they occurred as both friends are questioned extensively by the authorities.
And though this was somewhat predictable in places with no great surprises that I hadn’t managed to guess for myself I still enjoyed myself here immensely.
This was at its heart a psychological thriller but for me, it was also was a story about friendship and loss.
This one gets a yay from me.
Thank you to the Publisher and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of “Now You See Her” of which I have reviewed voluntary.
All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

AMAZON UK
AMAZON US

STALK ME

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.