Posted in Contemporary, Mystery, Reviews, Suspense

Reported Missing by Sarah Wray

Release Date-July 14th 2017
Publisher-Bookouture
Genre-Mystery & Thriller
Kindle Edition-356 pages

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year-old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence.

Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth.

But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

Reported MissingReported Missing by Sarah Wray

My rating: 2 of 5 stars


 photo Untitled design_zpswfnpafvw.jpg

So “Reported Missing” What did I think?
Well I would love to say that this bowled me over, but sadly I can’t, It was an ok read and I did finish, but it was definitely a struggle to get to the end and I really did consider abandoning Reported Missing numerous times throughout.
So a brief run-through.
Our story centres around Rebecca Pendle (Bec) whose husband “Chris” has been missing for four months. Coincidently Schoolgirl “Kayleigh Jackson” is also missing and Rebecca faces a small town who believe the two events to be linked, as she tries to discover the truth about her husband’s disappearance, secrets are revealed that lead to a totally different conclusion for all involved here.
So why didn’t we gel?
Well There were a few things going on here that grated on me the first being that I found Rebecca as a character a really annoying,abrasive, selfish and very whiny individual, I wanted to give her a huge kick up the backside and tell her to wake up and smell the coffee!!!


 photo kick-butt_zpsaktvoupi.gif

Now the way this story was told we were in Rebecca’s head the entire book and that a real no no if you are not liking the person whose head you are in and I so wasn’t liking Rebecca at all.
I was in a word really bored.
Bored with Rebecca’s wanderings and pointless repetitive thoughts that seemed to lead nowhere, in particular, frankly, I was losing the will to live and I wanted out of her constricting narrow-minded headspace.

 photo residents-only-copy_zpshstbxyay.jpg

Now Look, I get it that her husband has walked leaving her floundering but it shows the mettle of this person in how she deals with this awful happening, Rebecca is still floundering in the pits of self-Pity four months later.
need I say more?
And also By the time we do get some answers for her I’d actually lost interest in the question and its reply, all that time we spent inside Bec’s head I kept expecting something to happen, but no it’s just more random wool gathering and self-pity, woe is me type stuff, and when we do get some actual closure I found it very anti-climatic indeed, it was like is that it?
I found this a very predictable read and you could kind of guess where it was going (and I was right)
There were some redeemable features to Reported Missing, and these did keep me persevering to the final curtain.
For one there were some great secondary character’s, in particular, the friend Jeanie, I thought she was an unappreciated saint and Bec was very lucky to have her.
Also, Julie from the Caravan park, loved her, what a legend.
I also didn’t like the lack of closure the whole experience gave me overall.
I found Reported missing very well written, it was just that the subject matter itself didn’t grab me by the throat and I really failed to connect with the main character Rebecca.
Like massively!!!
This might have a totally different outcome for you.
I would like to Thank NetGalley, the publisher and the author for providing me with a free advanced readers copy of Reported Missing, this is my own honest unbiased opinion.

https://www.facebook.com/beckiebookworm/

View all my reviews

STALK ME

Leave a Reply