Posted in Contemporary, Mystery, psychological thriller, Reviews, Suspense

Lie to Me by Jess Ryder

Release Date-April 19th 2017
Publisher-Bookouture
Genre-Psychological Thriller
Kindle Edition-320 pages

We’re going to tell our story and then it will all stop and Mummy will be safe. You want Mummy to be safe, don’t you?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother she’s never known.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.
Lie to MeLie to Me by Jess Ryder

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars from me for this first book Lie To Me by Jess Ryder I found it a very enjoyable read and would definitely read other works written by this talented new author.
The story follows Meredith Banks as she discovers an old VCR tape in the attic of her childhood home.
This tape starts a spiral of questions for Meri as it features the mentally ill mother she can barely remember, Becca.Three minutes of footage is all it takes to turn Meredith’s life topsy-turvy.
Blocked at every turn and determined to discover the truth Meri delved into the thirty-year mystery who is Christopher Jay and Cara? and where is Becca?
Lie to Me kept me interested and the mystery flowing. Meri was a very likeable, if a bit of a lonely character, I couldn’t help but feel for as she seemed so vulnerable and isolated. Thought her ex-copper boyfriend was a bit of a douche more concerned about his career than the feelings of someone he once professed to love, Yep big douche in my opinion.
The book also had some very bright vivid secondary players, Cara herself, Jay, Alice and not forgetting the very flamboyant Isobel. Every single one of these participants played a part, however small, contributing to the final picture, answering questions and bringing closure to that all important finale.
And can I just say what a finish this was, I loved the ending so much, It Kind of gave the reader a gateway to create there own future story, Brilliantly executed.
I Received a free E-copy of Lie To Me from NetGalley and this is my own honest opinion.
https://www.facebook.com/beckiebookworm/

View all my reviews

STALK ME

Leave a Reply