Posted in Contemporary, Mystery, Reviews, Suspense

Last Seen by Lucy Clarke

Release Date-May 19th 2017
Publisher-Harper
Genre-Mystery & Thriller
Kindle Edition-449 pages

In a small seaside community, there’s always somebody watching…

Twisty, pacy, and superbly plotted, Last Seen is the perfect psychological page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Sabine Durrant.

Seven years ago, two boys went missing at sea – and only one was brought to shore. The Sandbank, a remote stretch of coast dotted with beach huts, was scarred forever.

Sarah’s son survived, but on the anniversary of the accident, he disappears without trace. As new secrets begin to surface, The Sandbank hums with tension and unanswered questions. Sarah’s search grows more desperate and she starts to mistrust everyone she knows – and she’s right to.

Someone saw everything on that fateful day seven years ago. And they’ll do anything to keep the truth buried.

Last SeenLast Seen by Lucy Clarke

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

OMG, First book I have read by Lucy Clarke, but so not the last, Last Seen for me was a five-star experience.
So we have two friends Sarah and Isla, best friends whose lives are so interwoven it’s hard to see where one starts and the other ends. Must be lovely to have a friend so close you can experience everything together and share each other’s lives,
you would think?
But even the closest friendships can turn toxic when tragedy strikes as it does to these two when only one little boy returns from the sea.
as the cracks begin to show and insecurities rear their little heads, you have to ask yourself, were the splinters always there under the surface just waiting for a reason to fracture and detonate.
What happens when all that has been brushed under the carpet bubbles to the surface.
When Seven years to the day of little Marley’s tragic drowning Jacob, now celebrating his seventeenth birthday, vanishes without a trace its now time for Sarah’s world to implode and shatter.
This was such a good read, I loved the way the story was laid out, jumping from Sarah to Isla’s perspective, I found myself jumping from one camp to the other when it came to my sympathies as we the reader are drip-fed information about each girl.
we get to see the two woman stript bare, all their flaws showing, as a friendship disintegrates before our very eyes, it’s so excruciatingly addictive to watch, a train wreck derailing.
I really wasn’t expecting to enjoy Last seen so much, but it has to be one of my favourite reads of the year so far.
I was glued to this till the shocking, unexpected end.
A job well done Lucy Clarke you now have a new fan in me, I really didn’t see it coming at all.
I Can’t recommend this book enough, give it a go, I really don’t think you will be disappointed.
Thank you so much to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a free advance reader copy of Last Seen by Lucy Clarke. This is my own unbiased opinion of this novel.
https://www.facebook.com/beckiebookworm/

View all my reviews

STALK ME

Leave a Reply